United States Federal Statutes of Limitations

What do federal statute of limitations apply to?

Federal statute of limitations apply to federal criminal offenses, which are crimes that are prohibited by federal laws and regulations. These offenses can include but not limited to:

  • White collar crimes such as fraud, embezzlement, and bribery

  • Environmental crimes such as violations of the Clean Air and Clean Water Acts

  • Tax offenses such as tax evasion and failure to file taxes

  • Immigration offenses such as illegal entry and reentry

  • Cybercrime such as hacking and identity theft

  • Drug offenses such as possession, distribution, and trafficking of controlled substances

  • Organized crime and racketeering

  • Public corruption and bribery

  • Human trafficking

  • Healthcare fraud

  • Federal offenses related to firearms, explosives, and national security

The statute of limitations for federal crimes can vary depending on the specific offense, and it is generally between five and six years, although some crimes may have shorter or longer statutes of limitations, or none at all. It's always best to consult with a lawyer or the relevant government agency for specific information on the statute of limitations for a particular federal crime.